Our Life in Boxes

Wife | Stay at 'Home' Mom | Student | Still Living in Boxes

Little Conveniences & Big Dreams

on March 3, 2013

I’ve come around to accept this phase in Deidrick’s life – I will be up in the night again and up early to feed my little man because of his increasingly growing appetite.  Coming to this acceptance has made it easier to wake up at night, so last night when he woke up around 1 am – I was ready to go.  After three failed attempts to get him back to sleep on his own, I stood by his crib rocking him and doing my best to hold my eyes open.  I started thinking about how it could be easier.  Living in a hotel room for a little over a week now, I have obviously thought about the things I miss about living in a house or even an apartment.  I miss a full kitchen, first of all.  Before we came, I was finally starting to get adventurous with my cooking and scaling it down to one small skillet meals kind of restricts my creativity there.  Along with some other obvious things like a dishwasher, seperate rooms for everything and storage for things like food and clothes – last night I found myself REALLY missing my rocking chair.  The Thursday before we left for Kansas, I rocked Deidrick to sleep in the rocking chair and found myself strangely sad to be leaving it behind.  I sat there and pondered how I could somehow bring it with me, but of course found no answers. It made me giggle a little bit to realize some of the things I miss, that I really thought I could do without.  

Anyway, today has been another good day for us.  Rudy is out in the field and hopefully finishing the job up so we can move tomorrow.  Of course, I’m not holding my breath for that…this is the 3rd time I’ve heard that.  When I went to pay for the room for tonight, she asked if it was for a night or a week, when I told her just tonight because we might be leaving tomorrow, the owner overheard and mumbled “Yeah, we hear that everyday.”  I wasn’t sure what to say, so I just took my room keys and left.  I’m sure her attitude comes from dealing with Rudy’s fantastic boss.  Obviously he upsets more than just his workers and their families… 

We’re watching a marathon on Spike of Bar Rescue.  Rudy and I love this show, and every time I watch it I go back to a conversation or two we’ve had about maybe someday opening a bar of our own.  I know it was a dream of Rudy’s when we were in Greeley and long before he met me, but I like to think that the business degree I’m earning would help with the financial side, where Rudy’s vision could make it a success.  

Right now I’m embracing the stay at home mom lifestyle, but I just don’t see it as a permanent thing for me.  As much as I got frustrated with Grace Pointe – that job gave me a sense of independence that I still crave in my life.  I enjoy being home with Deidrick, and not missing any little moment in his life – but I also look forward to the day when I can punch the time clock again and earn a little income for the family as well.  

Leave a Reply

