Our Life in Boxes

Wife | Stay at 'Home' Mom | Student | Still Living in Boxes

New Routines

on March 2, 2013

There for a while we’d gotten to a very blissful place in Deidrick’s life.  Once again, he was sleeping through the night and even sleeping in some mornings.  I’m not a fan of co-sleeping, it makes me incredibly nervous…especially with how much I toss and turn in my sleep.  So nights when he goes down peacefully in his crib, and sleeps there all night without a peep are just heavenly for me…even with this horrible mattress we’ve got.  Lately, he’s hit a growth spurt.  I can’t find any evidence of a 7/8 month growth spurt online, but I’m convinced.  He eats like a teenager, and is still never satisfied, and I think he’s grown at least another inch!  He also – no longer sleeps through the night again.  The past two nights he’s been like clock work.  2 AM and 6 AM when Rudy gets up. 

I know, I know… I’m a MOM! Parent’s don’t get real sleep again until much later in our children’s lives.  My son is just a little tease, that’s all.  When he does sleep through the night, Rudy and him go to bed close to the same time.  So when my boys are asleep – I used to use that quiet time to work on homework, or do something for me.  Now that he’s made it quite clear that we will be getting up in the night AND early in the morning – I call it an early night too.  Thankfully, I married a wonderful man & every time Deidrick is up during the night and just won’t go back to sleep, he gets up to help.  Even though he gets up at 6 AM and works hard all day – I never hear a single complaint out of him.  He’s always been happy to help, and words just cannot express how grateful I am for that. 

So here’s some good news – the sunshine the past few days has finally allowed the crew to get out in the field and work today.  This is the FIRST day since we’ve been here that they are working a whole day, so I’m thrilled.  It’s also a big test for me, to see how D handles just me all day.  We’ve gotten so used to Rudy coming back around noon, so we’ve got to adjust to that.   

One strange thing for me, is the idea of having someone else clean up our room… I am not a huge fan of cleaning, but I would have my days where I enjoyed an all day deep clean.  It reminds me of a story I heard about my mom and aunt April… the two of them shared a room growing up, and one day mom went to bed completely messy, and woke up a total neat freak!  She even went so far as to make a line down their room, to keep April’s mess on her side. (If you two read this and I told it wrong — feel free to correct me!)  Anyway, I get like that some days.  Strangely enough, I get in the cleaning mode when Rudy is gone.  Maybe it is because when he’s here, it is just nice to lounge around and cuddle all day – and when he’s gone I like to pass the time.  Regardless, there is only so much I can do to clean now.  So for today, I’ve picked up, organized, finally finished the tub of dishes, and now I’m waiting on housekeeping to come finish up.  So as strange as it is to me to have a stranger vacuum, dust and change the sheets where we’re ‘living,’ I’m going to have to just get used to it. 

 

Leave a Reply

