Our Life in Boxes

Wife | Stay at 'Home' Mom | Student | Still Living in Boxes

No Work and No New Bed…

on March 1, 2013

I was really excited yesterday when Rudy told me we were possibly moving today.  The strange part is, I was most excited to see our “moving plan” in action.  I really want to see how quickly we can pack and unpack with our “system.”  I also was excited for a new bed…the one we’re on is so uncomfortable I am living in a constant state of soreness.  Lastly, I was happy that the crew would be working again.  It was my impression that because they haven’t been able to get to the job this entire week, they were giving it up and going to Colby – where they COULD be working.  Unfortunately, that is no longer the plan.  I’m not a big fan of Rudy’s boss… but that’s all I’m going to say about that.

We’re getting pretty good at cooking in the room.  It dawned on me at the store last night, they make frozen meals that you fry up in the skillet in the freezer section.  I know this because I am far from a skilled chef, and when I was pregnant the last thing I wanted to do after an 8 hour shift was come home and cook from scratch.  So it is not quite homemade, but they’ve got lots of options which work out great for us.  Another thing we realized, we can make taco salad!! I think taco salad might be the only meal I cook that Rudy really enjoys, so we’re both pretty excited. 

On the topic of food – Deidrick tried his first meat last night.  He had chicken and chicken gravy.  I wish I had thought to take a picture of his reaction to it, because it was priceless.  I don’t blame him, it smelled terrible, but I do worry he’s going to be a picky eater for me.  I am starting to wonder if he’s going through a growth spurt, or maybe it’s just because I’ve got myself a boy, but he is like a bottomless pit lately; nothing satisfies him. 

Anyway, here we are another day, trying to think of ways to pass the time.  We are probably going to go swimming again, and I have to study for my math final later.  Deidrick has been a daddy’s boy all day today, so although I wish he was working it is great he’s here when D is demanding him. 

Leave a Reply

